Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Equity 101 Session 7

Equity Culture: Practitioner Interview with Dorothy Kelly

Thursday, September 16 at 9 a.m. (PDT), 10 a.m. (MDT), 11 a.m. (CDT), 12 p.m. (EDT)

Engage in this informative webinar as Curtis Linton interviews Dorothy Kelly on how she worked to build an equitable culture for students. Dorothy Kelly has worked over 26 years as an educator, serving 19 years as a middle school assistant principal and five years as a district-wide administrator. She recently retired from the School District of Clayton where she was an assistant principal at Wydown Middle School and the Director of the Clayton Voluntary Student Transfer Program. This program is a highly successful desegregation program in which African American and African descent families from the city of St. Louis attend St. Louis suburban school districts. In describing an equitable school culture, Dorothy says:

“An equitable school culture involves a leader who is hyper focused on achievement, and his or her attitude and actions permeate all aspects of teaching in the building. Teachers, counselors, students, and parents know the goals and purpose of what and how students are learning. All who enter the door are welcomed and feel confident that children will be nurtured and taught well. A healthy school culture exists when students have support in their learning endeavors, whether they need special education or gifted education. Those children would not be able to tell the difference—they would simply know they are cared about and are having fun while they learn.”

Learn More

Register for Session 7

•Follow Curtis on Twitter @curtislinton

•Follow the Equity 101 conversation with #equity101 on Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment